Melissa Harris-Perry will forever be my hero

 I’ve been watching Melissa Harris-Perry for a little close to a year when I realized this was the only news show I’d watch. I really look up to her. I have learned so much from the different guests she’s had on her show. While I didn’t tune in every weekend, I definitely enjoyed her when I did. It feels like i took the show for granted, hoping it would always be around. I have always wanted to speak as eloquently as Melissa Harris Perry. Her show reminded me to be the best I can be. While I find it quite admirable to watch her refuse to host a show she has no power over, I am so heartbroken to see it end.

Many people have found it odd that MHP was pushed off her show while Brian Williams randomly was brought back. Guess his lies were forgiven.


She has been speaking out on twitter to her fans who do not know the entirety of what’s going on. MSNBC most definitely used her as well as other talking heads and now she’s angry. MHP noticed this, and decided to take action. The tone of her show drastically changed over the four year span and what once was a blunt snap back to reality for racist white folks, is now a show you wouldn’t mind staying on for background noise if you so happen to go make a cup of coffee.

There have been so many times this show’s blunt approach has moved me, helped me learn things, and understand plights I don’t think I would have otherwise.

Remember when she read a letter to Tiana, a seven year old who’s school deemed her beautiful locs as “unacceptable”.

Or when she wrote a letter to Trayvon Martin’s Mother

Melissa Harris-Perry wanted to make it known how frustrating this was, especially having it be an election season. Basically, MSNBC still wanted her black face, but to report white news. Knowing damn well we wanted her to talk about Beyonce’s formation. She fixed that one though. She made sure to publically say this;

I am not a token, mammy or little brown bobble head. I am not owned by Lack, Griffin, or MSNBC. I love our show. I want it back. I have wept more years than I can count and I find this deeply painful, but I don’t want back on air at any cost. I am only willing to return when that return happens under certain terms.

It was disgusting on MSNBC’s part to continuously brush her off, ignoring the fact that after four years she knows her audience.

Not only was she on television, she’s a professor at Wake Forest University. Currently participating in Wake The Vote, where students get to meet and spend time with candidates.

She is a speaker and an author. She’s really doing it all! I’m currently reading Sister Citizen, which is a book about a black woman making sense of what it means to be a black woman in America

I plan to do a book review on this one soon. But as for Melissa Harris-Perry, this isn’t the end. I know she’s got way more up her sleeve.

Leave a Reply

