Willy Wonka and the chocolate Factory

Life update + story time!

I got this adorable phone case today and I’m just over the moon.

 It’s really the little things that make me happy.

But I’m here to tell you all why Willy Wonka & the Chocolate Factory.  is probably one of my all time favorites.

I read the book when I was 7 years old.

  (it’s really going to make sense why I remember in a few sentences, I swear.)

At age seven, I was in third grade at a new school feeling really weird. Everyone knew each other in my class but me and we were having reading time on these neat little carpet squares. I’ve ALWAYS been a talker. I’m almost never shy about anything so I just joined the  discussion.

It took us a month to read the book as a class, and as you know, my birthday is in November. By that time, I started giving out invitations to my bowling party. That year was strange because I had tons of friends but I wasn’t sure they’d come to my party. I invited all of them and even my teacher. (This was also around the time I thought teachers were celebs and superheros. They just knew everything, okay!)

My mom told me teachers don’t come to kid parties and she asked me not to get my hopes up. I didn’t care, she was so cool and it didn’t occur to me at the time that she might not want to spend her Saturday night with eight year olds.

But she came to my birthday party. 

Not only did she come to my party, but she came with a gift; The book and VHS. I’m sure this bumped her up to the coolest teacher I’ve ever had in my 8 year old life. She was so nice to me and I want to believe my love for reading came from that classroom. The last time I saw her was a little over 10 years ago. I wish I could find her now and ask if she remembers how she helped me have a very happy 8th birthday.

I think about this often, more now that I have this phone case and after visiting Dylan’s Candy Bar for the second time..and watching the entire Willy Wonka and the chocolate factory movie like an excited 8 year old again. 😊

  

4 thoughts on “Willy Wonka and the chocolate Factory

  1. I have something in common with you. First of all , Willy Wonka is the best of the best movies around and I’m not talking about did Johnny Depp version either. Gene Wilder all the way! Also one of the main reasons is subscribed to your blog is because of your blog name. I was born in 85 thus I grew up on 90’s television. One of my favorite shows to watch before I Went to school in the morning why is Power Rangers the original and of course in very first garage was on the pink Power Ranger. Although I’m older now sometimes you never forget the first crush whether it be on TV or in the classroom.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

