Ab-Soul

 Ab-Soul’s parents named him Herbert Anthony Stevens IV on February 23rd, 1987. As a kiddie, he enjoyed playing video games and basketball after moving into his grandma’s house in Carson, California.

I was just a toddler in ninja turtle pajamas
I ain’t know the world was fucked up like vaginas

When Soul was 10 years old, he contracted Steven-Johnson Syndrome, a life threatening skin condition that causes light sensitivity as well.  Notice the frequent pics with sunglasses? I must say, he was a tough kid. He mentioned that he tried so hard to still play basketball with his shades on, but he later decided it wasn’t going to work.

I even lost my lip skin
Grew back darker than its original pigment
Skin disfigured from boils and blisters
Unidentifiable by my little sister

Now that, right there, is just one of the many reasons I adore this man. He’s a storyteller in a generation of turn up trap music. Not only is this a quote from one of the greatest Ab-Soul songs, it also tackles and talks about majority of his life. He talks about the love of his life, the beautiful, Alori Joh, and her suicide as well.


Due to my Ab-Soul obsession, I learned he made tons of music with Alori, and she made her own music as well. I only listened to her after she passed, so it’s devastating that we won’t be hearing any new. What was even more devastating was the crack in Ab-Soul’s voice when he says;

And as much I wanna cower and bid the mic adieu
And fall off a fucking tower tryna find you

It’s just proof that he’s an amazing artist even through his pain and I want to share him with the world.Much like what Top Dawg Entertainment believed when they picked him to join the then brotherhood. You know, before SZA and Zay.  Before those two, the brotherhood created Black Hippy, which is a overwhelmingly pleasing group: Ab-Soul, Kendrick Lamar, Jay Rock and Schoolboy Q.

TDE. Jay Rock, K Dot, ScHoolboy, me… Soul

He’s currently in a relationship with this drop dead gorgeous model Yaris Sanchez, and quite frankly, I don’t blame him. She’s the only reason i didn’t address him as Bae this entire post. Oh, did I mention she’s gorgeous?   I’ve been dying to go to an Ab-Soul show since the dawn of time. I was lucky enough to catch him at Afropunk ’15 with SZA and Danny Brown. I’m just dying for new music, and to maybe meet him one day, tell him how much I adore him, and maybe I can see what his beautiful poofy hair smells like but you know, wishful thinking, right? 😉

 

One thought on “Ab-Soul

Leave a Reply

